Book to Movie Adaptation: Divergent

Book to Movie Adaptation: Divergent

“Divergent”, the first book in a three book series by Veronica Roth, was adapted into a movie by Summit Entertainment.

I am always a bit skeptical when it comes to movie adaptions of books, and the first installment of any movie series is always nerve wracking to watch. Are the characters going to fit? Is the cinematography going to do the plot justice? Is the director going to have the same vision that I did when I was reading the books?

Now obviously not everyone is going to be happy with every single part of a movie adaption, but I can honestly say, that Neil Burger, the director of “Divergent”, did a fantastic job. This movie was just a little over two hours but it felt like two minutes.

The pacing was fantastic, every key point was hit, and minus Uriah (which I’m still a little bitter about) everything important was kept in.

Truethfully I was worried about Shailene Woodley being able to portray Tris well enough because I have watched The Secret Life of an American Teenager, but she is so much more than that show. Her mother’s death scene had me shaking in tears, and I’m not even ashamed.

Theo James was a flawless Four but let’s be honest who didn’t think he would be? Ansel Elgort, who I will love him as Augustus Waters, played a perfect and devious Caleb and Miles Teller made me hate Peter even more.

I think there is something great about a movie that can keep you on the edge of your seat even though you already know what’s going to happen. And of course I was a mess all the way through because I know the inevitable end to the entire series, but thankfully Tris will live on in these movies for a few more years.

I am being completely honest when I say that I have no complaints about this film.

If you have read the books definitely go and watch it, and if you haven’t (woops I spoiled it didn’t I?) go watch it anyway!

Leave a Reply

