Book Review: Allegiant by Veronica Roth

Book Review: Allegiant by Veronica Roth

Allegiant is the third and final book in American author, Veronica Roth’s trilogy, “Divergent”, and was released October 22 2013.

I should probably start off by saying that this book tore me apart in ways that not many books can. When I think back to how I was feeling at the end, I still get choked up and upset about it.
I’m not sure I have been this devastated over a book ending since “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows”, but let me start off on a lighter note.

I loved seeing Tobias’ point of view in this book.
We finally get to see how he thinks, and how he isn’t just some macho, tough guy who isn’t afraid to face his fears. Roth showed us, as readers, that on the inside Tobias is just a little boy looking for some way to cope with the fear he still holds inside for his father.
Although I must admit, his whining about not being divergent was a bit much. I mean, he still has the same kind of “power” that any divergent person has, so doesn’t that make him even more special?

The interaction between Tobias and Tris is absolutely adorable. I will always ship FOURTRIS they will forever be my OTP regardless of how this book ended!

Although the moment that Tris punches Caleb is one of my favorites in this book, I also loved that she forgave him in the end because she remembered the good in him, despite the fact that he basically brought her to her execution.

There is so much character development with Tris that it’s hard to believe that these books are not set that far apart from each other. Honestly I think that she may be one of the best heroine characters that I have read about in a long while. She sacrifices herself for the greater good, and for her brother who, in my mind at least, deserved to be sent into that vault instead of Tris. She may have been selfish but it she was the most selfless, selfish person I have ever read about, if that even makes sense or seems possible.

(And can I just say they NEED to put the zip line scene in the movie because it is so vital for the series now that we’ve seen how the third book ends. And if Uriah isn’t in the movies I will be so angry!)

The ending of this book may have devastated millions of fans, but it is such a raw, and real ending to a series, and that is all any fan could really ask for.
We all wanted that happy ending. We wanted Tobias and Tris to be together and have a happily ever after ending because honestly that’s what they deserved, but real life isn’t like that, and Veronica Roth did not hold back on showing us how life doesn’t always play out in our favor.

I went through so much denial, that even in the Epilogue I was telling myself that Tris was going to pop up and be alive, even when I knew Tobias had her ashes! (Some people would call this a state of delusion)

While, I did love this book and I do love this series, I felt a little more than just sadness when I was finished. There was a hint of disappointment scratching at my mind as well, and I when I say a hint, I literally mean just a small speck.

The pace of Roth’s books seemed to get slower and slower as her series progressed, and there were times when I was reading and thinking to myself “did that scene really need to be in there?”

Regardless, there will always be things people do and do not like in book series, no one will ever agree on what the perfect ending is, but I do believe that Veronica Roth surprised millions of her fans in such a way that I don’t think we get to see much in books now-a-days, and that is what keeps me excited to read.


“…and it’s laughter, not light, that casts out the darkness building within me, that reminds me I am still alive” – TRIS PRIOR

Leave a Reply

